11
Sep
11

Welcome – Clothing made in usa blog

Welcome to Clothingmadeinusablog.

Where Can You Find Clothing Made in America Anymore?

This blogs’ purpose is to provide the reader with solid information to help them locate these rare precious gems (American made clothes), primarily in retail stores.  I have included my own personal musings and shopping misadventures as I try to secure myself an All-American wardrobe. Actually, I must confess All-American is not the actual purpose, but a non-slave-like manufacturing process is the real goal. With this in mind – the wardrobe will still be greater than 90% American. Which countries are acceptable you may ask. I would include the following countries: Canada; and the European Union Nations like Italy and Great Britain.

Not so long ago (which is a long time ago for you kids) in the 1960s, the United States manufactured 95% of what it used. Fast forward to today, the U.S. manufactures 5% of what it uses, and probably less than 2% of its clothing. And each month, there are fewer U.S. clothing manufacturers as even the most steadfast ones are closing down factories in the US and opening factories in Central America, Asia, Africa and Eastern Europe. The reasons for this will be detailed later in the introductory posts.

But what I can say now is that we no longer make things. We are a country of service people (people who serve). Our  current state of the Union reminds of the book, “The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Universe”. In the story, there is a world, not ours, that is going to die, and they decide to re-inhabit another planet. They build three great spaceships, and divide the population into three categories: 1) the really smart people, scientists & academics; 2) the hard laborers – the ones that build things, haul things, etc.; and 3) the middle men – management, the telephone sanitizers, etc.  In the story, they send off the first ship of middle men, but the other two ships stay, with no real intention of leaving, as there really was no crises in the first place. To me, we are the country of middle men, all service, we don’t make anything, dependent on others to deliver us the goods we need. It just doesn’t seem like a stable situation and maybe we need to reverse this trend.

4 Responses to “Welcome – Clothing made in usa blog”


  1. September 21, 2011 at 2:53 am

    Wonderful to find your blog. I am writing a book on how ordinary Americans just like you and I can revive American manufacturing, including America apparel manufacturers, by commiting to purchasing and wearing American made apparel. I will be featuring Jack Donnelly Khakis, White Dress Shirts.com, Wigwam socks and other manufacturers in my book. I have a blog that I would hope you would visit if you have time; its simply-american.net. Keep up the good work! All the best, John Briggs

    • September 22, 2011 at 4:26 am

      Dear tapirking,
      Thank you for the compliment. I did see your your blog as well: simplyamericadotnet.wordpress.com. Great work. It is always great to get new leads in finding clothes made in America. I have seen wigwam socks at REI. I have not found the jack Donnelly Khakis or White Dress Shirts in retail stores at this point in time. I will keep my eye peeled for them. I have accumulated a list of American made clothes found in retail stores, I am sure it is too incomplete to publish, but I hope in another month to put this in a future blog. Thank so much and good luck. -Jack A

  2. September 25, 2011 at 4:47 pm

    Jack:

    White Dress Shirts.com shirts are only available at whitedresshirts.com’s website. I believe the same is true with Jack Donnelly khakis, but don’t quote me on that. I would love to talk to you about your research on retail stores. In my upcoming book, I have a whole section on retailers. As you probably know, most of the outsourcing that has occurred over the last forty years was driven by lower wages in China, Vietnam and other third world countries. A $10 differnential in wholesale cost relating to cheaper labor overseas translates into a $40 differential in retail cost. What is really an interesting phenomenon is that many manufacturers who moved production overseas to take advantage of cheap labor are moving production back to the states because the labour cost differential is becoming less pronounced therefore making the headaches associated with producing goods in China hardly worth the candle. For more on the issue check out a report by the Boston Consulting Group: http://www.bcg.com/expertise_impact/publications/PublicationDetails.aspx?id=tcm:12-84591. All the best, John.

    • September 26, 2011 at 3:16 am

      Dear tapirking,
      I have documented about 95 different brands of clothing and shoes that are American made found in easy to find retail stores. As I have been at this, in ernest, for about six months, I know there are many more out there. I would be happy to share them with you. For my blog, I was think of publishing this list in about 2 – 3 months after I visit New York City.
      In regards to outsourcing, I thought I was going to publish one in 1 – 2 weeks, but as I go deeper into things, probably 4 – 6 weeks may be more likely. My goal is to publish a post about one and a half pages long, aimed at people that have no conception of economic terms.
      These are a few of the things I have learned thus far. Outsourcing started in the 1970’s. NAFTA didn’t pass until 1994, In 1990, China was but a blip on the radar regarding manufacturing. Labor only accounts for 8 -10% of labor costs. In certain areas in China, the working wage has gone over $3 per hour. As you mentioned, the strong dollar versus the artificially depressed Yuan adds value to Chinese products. China actively recruits American manufacturing and gives them “special deals” some legal (Chinese legal is different than American legal) and some not so legal. Foreign manufacturing gets a 7.5% tax rate. Some Chinese manufacturing have placed their headquarters in Hong Kong in order to get their favorable “foreign” tax rate. Legal costs are nil, because their are hardly any lawyers in China. Manufacturers are offered “reimbursement costs”, Free rent or lease of properties for their factories or executives. Foreigner can not own property in China but can lease them for 65 years. There are plenty of bribes, but none that can be documented for obvious reasons. Plus, China is able to manipulate trade deals with other countries including the USA with a great deal of dexterity. Actually, it is quite complex, but I hope to make it easy to assimilate. Good luck, -Jack A


Leave a Reply

September 2011
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Categories


